What’s to Come

What’s to come in our lives? In my life?

To be fair, it’s perfectly normal to have no clue on where you want to go in life, and it’s just as normal to want to stay on a certain path. I see so many fellow Year 12’s around me, and while some seem to have their lives in order, many others are completely oblivious and confused to what the future holds. And to be honest, I’m one of them.

Growing up, I’ve always wanted to become someone respected with a good career that pays well. Coming from a poor country, it certainly has been tough, but there’s always this mentality that I need to succeed for both my own satisfaction and the satisfaction of others. Right now, I wish to study law at a specific university, but hearing from many university students, it seems that what they thought they had wanted wasn’t really their dream. And that scares me. A lot.

And so with that in mind, I have no idea what’s happening. If anything, I know less now than what I knew before. Although I will continue to push for a law degree, I will certainly not mark out any other options. Better to keep as many options available right? To all the other lost and completely lost students out there, know that you are not alone. And even though we are totally unaware of what’s coming, the future will inevitably come, and hopefully, with answers and truths that will make life just that little bit easier.

This post was inspired by a conversation I had with a few friends today, and only now, half an hour to midnight, am I again reflecting on life. Although it’s a tad melodramatic and unbelievably out of character for me, I thought it would be nice to just… talk about something like this. I’d love to hear from other students like (or unlike) me, just so that I can see what’s it’s like for others. Thankfully though, there is one thing I’m sure of – this blog will run for awhile. So while my life is left completely in the red zone, at least my little virtual life will keep on living.

Isn’t that a relief?